Research interests

  • structure and mechanisms of complex metalloenzymes
  • enzymes in the bacterial one-carbon metabolism
  • ATPase-dependent electron transfer reactions
  • Ni-dependent enzymes and their maturation
  • complex iron-sulfur dependent enzymes

Research Units in UniSysCat

Awards (selection)

2021 Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2011 Steinhofer Lecture Award, U Freiburg
2004 Junior Research Award of the U Bayreuth
2002 Junior Research Award of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried
2002 Krka Award of pharmaceutical company Krka, Novo Mesto (Slovenia)

Prof. Dr. Holger Dobbek 
HU Berlin
Department of Biology
Philippstraße 13
10115 Berlin
+49 (0)30 2093-6369
+49 (0)30 2093-6447

Publications (selection)

M. Zhang, M. Bommer, R. Chatterjee, R. Hussein, J. Yano, H. Dau, J. Kern, H. Dobbek, A. Zouni, Structural Insights into the light-driven auto-assembly process of the water oxidizing Mn4CaO5-cluster in photosystem II, eLife 2017, 6, e26933.

T. Werther, S. Wahlefeld, J. Salewski, U. Kuhlmann, I. Zebger, P. Hildebrandt, H. Dobbek, Redox-dependent substrate-cofactor interactions in the Michaelis-complex of a flavin-dependent oxidoreductase, Nature Communications 2017, 8, 1–8.

L. Domnik, M. Merrouch, S. Goetzl, J. H. Jeoung, C. Leger, S. Dementin, V. Fourmond, H. Dobbek, CODH-IV: a high-efficiency CO-scavenging CO dehydrogenase with resistance to O2, Angewandte Chemie International Edition 2017, 56, 15466–15469.

J. H. Jeoung, D. Nianios, S. Fetzner, H. Dobbek, Quercetin 2,4-dioxygenase activates dioxygen in a side-on O2-Ni complex, Angewandte Chemie International Edition 2016, 55, 3281–3284.

I. D. Young, M. Ibrahim, R. Chatterjee, S. Gul, F. D. Fuller, S. Koroidov, A. S. Brewster, R. Tran, R. Alonso-Mori, T. Kroll, T. Michels-Clark, H. Laksmono, R. G. Sierra, C. A. Stan, R. Hussein, M. Zhang, L. Douthit, M. Kubin, C. de Lichtenberg, L. Vo Pham, H. Nilsson, M. H. Cheah, D. Shevela, C. Saracini, M. A. Bean, I. Seuffert, D. Sokaras, T. C. Weng, E. Pastor, C. Weninger, T. Fransson, L. Lassalle, P. Bräuer, P. Aller, P. T. Docker, B. Andi, A. M. Orville, J. M. Glownia, S. Nelson, M. Sikorski, D. Zhu, M. S. Hunter, T. J. Lane, A. Aquila, J. E. Koglin, J. Robinson, M. Liang, S. Boutet, A. Y. Lyubimov, M. Uervirojnangkoorn, N. W. Moriarty, D. Liebschner, P. V. Afonine, D. G. Waterman, G. Evans, P. Wernet, H. Dobbek, W. I. Weis, A. T. Brunger, P. H. Zwart, P. D. Adams, A. Zouni, J. Messinger, U. Bergmann, N. K. Sauter, J. Kern, V. K. Yachandra, J. Yano, Structure of photosystem II and substrate binding at room temperature, Nature 2016, 540, 453–457.

J. Fesseler, J. H. Jeoung, H. Dobbek, How the [NiFe4S4] cluster of CO dehydrogenase activates CO2 and NCO, Angewandte Chemie International Edition 2015, 54, 8560–8564.

S. E. Hennig, S. Goetzl, J. H. Jeoung, M. Bommer, F. Lendzian, P. Hildebrandt, H. Dobbek, ATP-induced electron transfer by redox-selective partner recognition, Nature Communications 2014, 5, 4626.

M. Bommer, C. Kunze, J. Fesseler, T. Schubert, G. Diekert, H. Dobbek, Structural basis for organohalide respiration, Science 2014, 346, 455–458.

J. H. Jeoung, M. Bommer, T. Y. Lin, H. Dobbek, Visualizing the substrate-, superoxo-, alkylperoxo-, and product-bound states at the nonheme Fe(II) site of homogentisate dioxygenase, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 2013, 110, 12625–12630.

J. H. Jeoung, H. Dobbek, Carbon dioxide activation at the Ni,Fe-cluster of anaerobic carbon monoxide dehydrogenase, Science 2007, 318, 1461–1464.

Latest News

Dr. Ina Czyborra, the Senator for Higher Education and Research, Health and Long-Term Care, is on an “excellence-tour” visiting all Clusters of Excellence in Berlin. This week, she made a stop at UniSysCat!