Clara Immerwahr Award

The Clara Immerwahr Award, launched by UniCat in 2011, is an award for promoting equity and excellence in catalysis research fostering young female scientists at an early stage of their career. The award is dedicated to Dr. Clara Immerwahr (1870-1915), who was the first woman in Germany to earn a doctorate in Physical Chemistry in 1900.

The Clara Immerwahr Award is now by UniSysCat conferred annually to a young female scientist from Germany or abroad at an early stage of her career (postdoctoral fellow, junior researcher) for outstanding results in Catalysis Research. It is associated with a financial support of 15.000 Euro* for a research stay at UniSysCat and thought to establish close collaborative links with UniSysCat working groups.

We are grateful to BASF SE for sponsoring the Clara Immerwahr Award in 2022, 2023 and 2024.

Congratulations to Prof. Dr. Meera Mehta for the Clara Immerwahr Award 2024!

We are pleased to congratulate this year's awardee, Prof. Dr. Meera Mehta from the Universtiy of Oxford. She receives the Clara Immerwahr Award 2024 for her outstanding achievements in catalysis research.

Prof. Mehta was born and raised in downtown Toronto (Canada). She completed her Honours BSc from McMaster University and earned her PhD from the University of Toronto under the mentorship of Prof. Douglas Stephan. 

In 2018, she was awarded a Royal Society Newton International Fellowship to work with Prof. Jose Goicoechea at the University of Oxford. 

In 2020, Prof. Mehta was recruited to the University of Manchester to establish her independent research group.

In January 2024, she returned to the University of Oxford as an Associate Professor in Inorganic Chemistry to continue her research efforts.

Save the date: Clara Immerwahr Award Ceremony 2024

The Clara Immerwahr Award Ceremony 2024 will take place on Friday April 12, 2024 at 3 pm at the TU Berlin. Guests are cordially invited!

* The money may only be used for the winning research project as follows:

  • Payment of an allowance to cover the living costs during the stays in UniSysCat incl. reimbursement of travel costs (round-trip ticket).
  • Consumables (regarding the project)

The Selection comittee

Prof. Dr. Holger Dau 
FU Berlin
Department of Physics
Arnimallee 14
14195 Berlin
+49 (0)30 838-53581
+49 (0)30 838-56510

Prof. Dr. Peter Hegemann 
HU Berlin
Department of Biology
Invalidenstraße 42
10115 Berlin
+49 (0)30 2093-8681

Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldan Cuenya
Fritz Haber Institute
Department of Interface Science
Faradayweg 4–6
14195 Berlin
+49 (0)30 8413-4123

Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas
TU Berlin
Institute of Chemistry, Office BA 2
Hardenbergstraße 40
10623 Berlin
+49 (0)30 314-25118
+49 (0)30 314-29271

Prof. Dr. Petra Wendler
U Potsdam
Institute of Biochemistry and Biology
Karl-Liebknecht-Straße 24–25
14476 Potsdam-Golm
+49 (0)331 977-5130
+49 (0)331 977-5128