What's UniSysCat all about?

UniSysCat stands for Unifying Systems in Catalysis. We are a Cluster of Excellence - more than 260 researchers from four universities and four research institutes in the Berlin and Potsdam area - working jointly together on current challenges in the highly relevant field of catalysis.

UniSysCat unites biologists, chemists, engineers and physicists with the aim to revolutionize catalysis research.


3rd UniSysCat Annual General Assembly

This year's UniSysCat Annual General Assembly will take place on Wednesday, November 24, 2020 at 5 pm. Prof. Dr. Klaus-Robert Müller will give a talk about "Machine Learning meets Quantum Chemistry".

Third episode of the science podcast "exzellent erklaert" is now online.

Bacteria in the gut - how drugs affect our microbiome: Lisa Maier from the Cluster of Excellence „Controlling Microbes to Fight Infections“ (CMFI) in Tübingen researches the effects of drugs on our microbiome.

We offer a position in the group of Ariane Nunes Alves

Calling for a "Research Assistant - 0.67 working time - salary grade 13 TV-L Berliner Hochschulen". Research focus: study of ligand binding kinetics and use of kinetic rates for optimizing enzyme catalysis.

Prof. Markus Antonietti

The award ceremony originally planned for 2020 had been rescheduled to November 3, 2021. Congratulations once again from UniSysCat!

Single-atom calatyst for electrochemical water splitting

UniSysCat researchers Shuang Li and Arne Thomas present highly active single-atom catalysts based on inexpensive and durable materials. Their approach is a great step towards more efficient electrochemical water splitting.

Martin Oestreich

What an exciting new task for UniSysCat group leader Prof. Martin Oestreich! He recently joined the board of the new book series "Lives in Chemistry - Lebenswerke in der Chemie".

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl

Nobel Laureate Prof. Gerhard Ertl celebrated his 85th birthday on October 10th. UniSysCat warmly congratulates the pioneer of surface chemistry and spiritus rector of our catalysis research.

Are you hungry?

A team of UniSysCat researchers deciphered the structure of the hunger switch in our brain - the tiny protein called melanocortin 4 receptor.

Alfred Nobel

Benjamin List and David MacMillan receive this year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the development of new catalysts. We're excited that the importance of catalysis is highlighted by the highest award.

Second episode of the science podcast  "exzellent erklaert" is now online.

Alzheimer's - origin, findings, research questions. Prof. Christian Haass from Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology talks about his work on the neurological disease.

Social Media

WissenAusBerlin film day: Backstage photos now online!

UniSysCat Kick-Off Video


Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat) is funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) under Germany´s Excellence Strategy – EXC 2008/1– 390540038