

## UniSysCat Research Group Leader Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya Receives 2021-2022 Emmett Award

Start Time: Sunday, November 8, 2020

End Time:



Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya, a group leader within our research cluster, has been awarded the 2021-2022 Paul H. Emmett Award in Fundamental Catalysis.

Prof. Roldan Cuenya receives this prestigious award for her contribution to the understanding of the mechanics of thermal and electro-catalytic reactions, showing how geometric and electronic properties influence the catalytic performance. Her research leads to significant advances into using nanocatalysts to convert carbon dioxide into higher value chemicals and fuels such as ethanol and ethylene. Congratulations Prof. Roldan Cuenya!

The prestigious Emmett Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of up to two individual researchers in the field of catalysis every two years. In particular, the award honors research that advances the discovery and understanding of catalytic phenomena, proposes catalytic reaction mechanisms and identifies catalytic sites and species. Past awardees include Nobel Prize Laureate Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl in 1979. Prof. Roldan Cuenya and Prof. Ertl are the only recipients in Germany so far.

In 2021-2022, Prof. Roldan Cuenya (2022 Winner) is joined by Professor Thomas Jaramillo of Stanford University (2021 Winner). For more information, <u>click here</u>.





















Recently, Die Welt published a portrait of Prof. Roldan Cuenya.

She also discussed her research together with her colleague Prof. Leimkühler at the <u>2020</u> <u>Berlin Science Week</u>.

















